Centering Black Artists

By College of Fine Arts

Tuesday, January 31, 2023 10am to 5pm

+ 10 dates

  • Wednesday, February 1, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Thursday, February 2, 2023 10am to 8pm
  • Friday, February 3, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday, February 4, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Sunday, February 5, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Monday, February 6, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Tuesday, February 7, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, February 8, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Thursday, February 9, 2023 10am to 8pm
  • Friday, February 10, 2023 10am to 5pm

100 Ridges Circle, Athens, Ohio 45701

https://www.ohio.edu/museum/centeringblackartists
View map Add to calendar

Kennedy Museum of Art

Centering Black Artists

January 17, 2023

Centering Black Artists highlights the work of named Black artists in KMA’s collections. Historically significant artists such as social realist Jacob Lawrence, color field painter Sam Gilliam, and abstractionist Martin Puryear are featured, as well as Kara Walker, Lorna Simpson, and Glenn Ligon, whose work explores the nature of race representation and narrative in contemporary art. The exhibition also includes work by Elizabeth Catlett, Joseph Norman, Asiru Olatunde, John Sims, Lami Toto, and Cheryl Warrick. In addition, Scenic View: A Stripscape by Professor Emeritus of Painting and Drawing Robert Peppers will continue be on view in KMA’s front gallery. Centering Black Artists acknowledges the underrepresentation of Black artists in KMA’s collections and provides the opportunity to engage Black community members in determining action steps to increase inclusion in programming and future exhibitions at the Museum.

Event Details

User Activity

No recent activity