Gesture of the Still Image 

By College of Fine Arts

Thursday, February 2, 2023 10am to 8pm

+ 10 dates

  • Friday, February 3, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday, February 4, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Sunday, February 5, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Monday, February 6, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Tuesday, February 7, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, February 8, 2023 10am to 5pm
  • Thursday, February 9, 2023 10am to 8pm
  • Friday, February 10, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Saturday, February 11, 2023 1pm to 5pm
  • Sunday, February 12, 2023 10am to 5pm

100 Ridges Circle, Athens, Ohio 45701

https://www.ohio.edu/museum/gesture-still-image
View map Add to calendar

Kennedy Museum presents

Gesture of the Still Image 

January 17 - March 26, 2023 

Gesture of the Still Image is a selection of photographs and related mediums from KMA’s collections chosen for their portrayal of the human body in a moment of movement and emotion stilled by an artist’s lens. Within this exhibition one can witness the way an image tells a story in a single frame and allows the viewer a glimpse into the human condition. Work chosen by KMA graduate assistant Ashley Kouri, an MFA candidate in Photography and Integrated Media, spans over a century of the history of photography from the pictorialism of Clarence White to contemporary imagery recently purchased by the Museum. The addition of photographs by Lissa Rivera and Lalla Essaydi expands the ratio of female-identifying to male-identifying artists both in the exhibition and KMA collections.

Gallery Hours

M, T, W, F: 10am - 5pm
Th: 10am - 8pm
Sat. Sun: 1 - 5pm
University Holidays: Closed

Event Details

User Activity

No recent activity